Sexual Assault – More Common Than You Think!

Cheryl Yeoh.

I haven’t heard of her until this morning, when I saw my friend share her sexual assault story on my Facebook feed: Shedding Light on the Black Box of Inappropriateness

Her story is not the first that I’ve heard of and I’m sure there will be more and more coming out, which is a good thing as we need to put a spotlight on this issue. Sexual assault is no laughing matter. One would never dream that it would happen to themselves, especially in a professional context, where it would be safe to assume that everyone would act appropriately. Guess not!

What is Sexual Assault?

According to the Office on Women’s Health, US Department of Health and Human Services, it is…

Rape.JPG

Wow, can you believe that!? In the US, nearly 1/5 women has been raped, and almost 50% have experience another type of sexual assault.

Here are some statistics for Canada…Damn, it sounds even worse – 997/1000 assailants walk away scot-free and 1/4 women will be sexually assaulted in their lifetime?!

Rape_Canada

Rape_Can

To sum it up, sexual assault is any sexual contact or behaviour that occurred without explicit consent of the victim. Remember, it is NEVER the victim’s fault. It could be as simple as…he kissed me, but I didn’t want to kiss him, or I touched her thigh without her consent and she felt uncomfortable. I would hope that anything more severe than those two scenarios would be pretty black and white for most people.

…And back to the article…

Venture Capitalists (VCs) hitting on female founders in the tech startup space…yeah, it’s absolutely revolting. I’m sure it happens to women in other industries as well – traditional sectors, like construction, mining or manufacturing – and that it happens more regularly than we think, but no one talks about it. I’m glad these ladies were courageous enough to come forward and tell their stories, and I hope by circulating these articles, it will help bring more awareness to the issue.

Read more about Cheryl’s life story and accomplishments here.  She also has delivered a TEDxKLWomen talk a few years back that I really enjoyed: Success begets passion, not the other way around.

TED

Stay Safe and Take Care!
P.S. – If you are interested in reading the assailant’s half-assed apology, here it is: I’m a Creep. I’m Sorry by Dave McClure

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

